Roundup
Best Levoit Air Purifiers
Levoit certifies ten air purifiers with ENERGY STAR, which means ten published figures for clean air per watt. Ranked on that number, the model the internet recommends is in the bottom half of its own brand.
By Scooter M. · Published · Last updated
How this page is funded: the buy links below are affiliate links. If you buy through one, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not change the order of the picks or what we say about them. Full disclosure.
The short answer
Buy the Eleva 300X for a bedroom and the Core 600S for a living room. The Core 400S, which is the Levoit almost every list recommends, is the one we would buy last of the three. Levoit has ten air purifiers in the ENERGY STAR certified database, and that database publishes clean air delivered per watt for every one of them. Ranked on that figure the Core 400S is seventh of ten at 5.75 CFM/W. The Eleva 300X does 6.68 for less money and 40% less electricity, and the Eleva 500X does 9.26 - though we could not buy that one, which is covered below.
Why a brand roundup can be done properly here
Most “best of brand X” pages are a reshuffle of the same three products everyone else lists. This one can be done from data because Levoit certifies most of its range with ENERGY STAR, and the federal certified room air cleaners database publishes, for every certified model: CADR for smoke, dust and pollen; the room size that implies; annual energy use in kWh; ozone emissions in ppb; and clean air delivered per watt.
That last figure is the one worth ranking on. Two purifiers with the same CADR can differ by 60% in the electricity they burn to produce it, and since a purifier is an appliance you leave running, that difference compounds into real money. It is also the figure no listing mentions.
All ten certified Levoit purifiers, ranked on clean air per watt
| Rank | Model | Smoke CADR | Room | CFM per watt | kWh/yr |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Eleva 500X (LAP-C511S) | 301 CFM | 467 sq ft | 9.26 | 194 |
| 2 | LAP-C311S | 175 CFM | 271 sq ft | 7.81 | 132 |
| 3 | Eleva 300X (LAP-C341S) | 161 CFM | 250 sq ft | 6.68 | 145 |
| 4 | Core 600S (LAP-C601S) | 391 CFM | 606 sq ft | 5.93 | 387 |
| 5 | LAP-C401S | 234 CFM | 363 sq ft | 5.91 | 235 |
| 6 | LAP-B851S | 85 CFM | 132 sq ft | 5.86 | 90 |
| 7 | Core 400S | 231 CFM | 358 sq ft | 5.75 | 237 |
| 8 | LAP-C171 | 34 CFM | 53 sq ft | 5.15 | 39 |
| 9 | Core Mini (LAP-C161) | 34 CFM | 53 sq ft | 4.86 | 42 |
Nine rows for ten certified entries, because Levoit certifies two Core 600S variants separately and they return nearly identical performance. The important line is the seventh: the Core 400S, the unit that appears on more recommendation lists than anything else Levoit makes, converts electricity into clean air less efficiently than five other purifiers in its own range.
How we picked these
We have not tested these machines. Every figure below is published by Levoit or by the ENERGY STAR certified room air cleaners database, and every unit was checked for live availability before it was featured. Criteria, in order:
- Certified clean air per watt. The ranking axis, because it is the specification that decides three years of running cost and the one nobody publishes on a box.
- Is the right room size available? An efficient purifier too small for the space is not a bargain. We picked one unit per realistic room size rather than three units for the same room.
- Can we buy it, today? Checked live. This eliminated the best unit in the range, which is discussed rather than recommended.
- Does Levoit publish a filter interval? The recurring gap in this brand’s documentation, and the thing that makes annual cost computable or not.
The unit we cannot recommend, and why we are telling you about it
The best-engineered air purifier Levoit has certified is the Eleva 500X. At 9.26 CFM per watt it delivers 61% more clean air per watt than the Core 400S, it moves more air outright (301 CFM against 231), it covers a larger room (467 sq ft against 358), it uses less electricity doing it (194 kWh a year against 237), and it is one of only two Levoit models with ENERGY STAR Most Efficient. On paper it is not a close contest.
We could not find it purchasable on Amazon. Our rule is that we only feature units we can verify are buyable now, so it is not a pick and it has no buy button. We are naming it anyway because leaving it out would make this page misleading: if you can find an Eleva 500X at a sensible price through another retailer, the data says it is the Levoit to own.
Credit where it is due: Levoit publishes both coverage numbers
We spend a lot of this site pointing out that packaging coverage claims are quoted at one air change per hour and run about five times the honest figure. Levoit is a partial exception and deserves to be told so.
Its own specification pages publish both: the Core 600S is listed as “2,909 ft² (1 ACH) / 606 ft² (4.8 ACH)” and the Eleva 300X as “1,200 sq ft (1 ACH) / 250 sq ft (4.8 ACH)”. The second number in each pair is the one to use, and the fact that Levoit prints it at all puts it ahead of most of the category. Its Amazon listings still lead with the big number, which is a marketing decision rather than a documentation failure. The arithmetic behind the two figures is in CADR explained.
The filter interval problem, and the one model that fixes it
A recurring note in our Levoit coverage is that the company does not publish a filter replacement interval for the Core 400S, which makes the annual filter cost impossible to compute before purchase. That is still true, and it is also true of the Core 600S.
The Eleva 300X is the exception, and it is a real one: Levoit publishes up to two years on the particle filter and 6-12 months on the carbon filter. It also separates the two, so the carbon is its own part on its own schedule rather than a layer inside a combined cartridge - the arrangement that actually holds up against odors, as we set out in activated carbon explained. For a brand whose documentation we have criticized repeatedly, this is a marked improvement and it is concentrated in the newest line rather than the famous one.
What each one costs to run for a year
| Unit | Room it suits | Annual energy | Cost per year | Ozone |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eleva 300X | Up to 250 sq ft | 145 kWh | $26.59 | 0.00 ppb |
| Core 400S | Up to 358 sq ft | 237 kWh | $43.47 | 0.00 ppb |
| Core 600S | Up to 606 sq ft | 387 kWh | $70.98 | 0.00 / 2.00 ppb by variant |
Note the Core 600S ozone row. Levoit certifies two Core 600S variants and they report different figures - 0.00 ppb for LAP-C601S-WUS and 2.00 ppb for LAP-C601S-WUSR. The Amazon listing does not state which variant ships. Both numbers are very low in absolute terms; across all 243 certified room air cleaners the highest figure in the entire database is 5 ppb. We mention it because a reader comparing on ozone deserves to know the figure is variant-dependent and unresolvable from the listing. One more note on the cost column: the Core 400S product card below quotes about $30 a year rather than $43.47. Both are ours and both are correct - the card is 38 W at 12 hours a day, the table is ENERGY STAR’s certified annual figure on the program’s standardized basis. The certified figures are the ones to compare across models, because they are all measured the same way.
Which one for your room
- Bedroom, study or home office up to 250 sq ft: Eleva 300X. Cheapest to buy of the three, cheapest to run by a wide margin, quietest at 20 dB in Sleep Mode, and the only one with a published filter schedule.
- Living room or open-plan space up to 600 sq ft: Core 600S. It is the only purchasable Levoit with the CADR to hold that volume, and its efficiency is slightly better than the Core 400S despite moving 69% more air.
- A mid-size room around 300-360 sq ft: this is the Core 400S’s actual niche, and it is a narrow one. The Eleva 300X is too small and the Core 600S is more than you need. If your room genuinely sits in that band it is a reasonable buy - just not for the reasons most lists give.
- A very small room under about 130 sq ft: none of these. The certified LAP-B851S is a 132 sq ft unit at 90 kWh a year and carries Most Efficient, but we have not verified a purchase path for it, so we are not recommending a specific model here.
What we would actually do
Work out the room first. Floor area times two-thirds gives the smoke CADR you need, which turns this from brand loyalty into arithmetic - what size air purifier do I need has the table.
Then buy the Eleva 300X if that number lands under about 161 CFM, and the Core 600S if it lands under 391. Both are better documented and one of them is dramatically cheaper to run than the model you were probably about to buy. If you already own a Core 400S, none of this means you should replace it - it is a competent purifier with a certified 0.00 ppb ozone figure and it is doing its job. It just is not the best Levoit, and after ten certified models and one federal database, that is now a checkable statement rather than an opinion.
Quick picks
Ranked on published specifications and computed running cost. Tap any row for the full write-up, including who should skip it.
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Levoit Eleva 300XA bedroom or home office up to about 250 sq ft | Best Levoit overall | 8.9 | $129.99 - View on Amazon |
| 2 | Levoit Core 600S-PA living room or open-plan space up to about 600 sq ft | Best for a large room | 8.3 | $269.99 - View on Amazon |
| 3 | Levoit Core 400SLiving rooms and open-plan spaces | The famous one | 8.6 | $189.97 - View on Amazon |
#1 - Best Levoit overall
Levoit Eleva 300X
A bedroom or home office up to about 250 sq ft

The best-engineered Levoit purifier you can actually buy on Amazon, and the only one in the range for which Levoit publishes a filter replacement interval. It moves less air than a Core 400S and does more with every watt.
#ad Price as of October 18, 2026, from Amazon. Prices change. How we make money.
Published specifications
| Specification | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| CADR - smoke, dust, pollen | 161 CFM, AHAM Verifide | Levoit published specification |
| Coverage | 250 sq ft at 4.8 air changes/hr (1,200 sq ft at 1 ACH) | Levoit published specification |
| Clean air per watt | 6.68 CFM/W | ENERGY STAR certified room air cleaners database |
| Annual energy use | 145 kWh/yr | ENERGY STAR certified room air cleaners database |
| Ozone emissions | 0.00 ppb | ENERGY STAR certified room air cleaners database |
| Rated power | Under 25.5 W | Levoit published specification |
| Noise | 20-50 dB (20 dB in Sleep Mode) | Levoit published specification |
| Filtration | 3-stage sealed HEPA with a separate activated carbon filter | Levoit published specification |
| Filter replacement | Particle filter up to 2 years; carbon filter 6-12 months | Levoit published specification |
| Fan speeds | 4 plus Auto | Levoit published specification |
| Sensor | AirSight Plus 2.0, 3-channel (PM1.0, PM2.5, PM10) | Levoit published specification |
| Dimensions and weight | 9.4 x 9.4 x 15.1 in, 9.9 lb | Levoit published specification |
What it costs to run
About $27 a year on ENERGY STAR's certified annual energy figure.
ENERGY STAR publishes 145 kWh a year for LAP-C341S, the Eleva 300X. At 18.34 cents/kWh that is $26.59 a year. The Core 400S, on the same certified basis, is 237 kWh and $43.47 - so the Eleva costs about $17 a year less to run while covering a smaller room more efficiently.
What is good about it
- 6.68 CFM of clean air per watt against the Core 400S's 5.75 - a 16% improvement in the specification that decides your bill
- 145 kWh a year, about 40% less electricity than the Core 400S, for a machine sized to a bedroom rather than a living room
- The only Levoit purifier we have found where Levoit publishes a filter replacement interval - up to 2 years on the particle filter, 6-12 months on the carbon
- A separate activated carbon filter rather than a carbon layer inside a combined cartridge, which is the arrangement that actually holds up against odors
- 20 dB in Sleep Mode is genuinely quiet enough to sleep beside, and it publishes the figure
- Certified at 0.00 ppb ozone, with no ionizing stage
- A 3-channel particle sensor at this price is unusual; most units at any price infer air quality from a single channel
What is not
- 161 CFM is a 250 sq ft machine. It is not a living-room purifier and buying it for one would be a mistake
- Newer and less reviewed than the Core line, so there is less accumulated owner feedback to draw on
- The 1,200 sq ft figure on the listing is a one-air-change-per-hour number; the usable coverage is 250 sq ft and Levoit publishes both, to its credit
- Two filters on two different schedules is more to track than one combined cartridge, even though it is the better design
- Levoit's more efficient Eleva 500X is certified at 9.26 CFM/W but we could not find it purchasable on Amazon, so the range's best unit is not the one you can buy here
Who should skip this
Skip this if the room is much over 250 sq ft - the Core 600S is the honest answer there, and no amount of running this unit longer will substitute for CADR it does not have.
How it scored
- Clean air per watt9.0
- Published specifications9.5
- Quiet operation9.5
- Room size covered6.5
Overall 8.9 / 10. This is our editorial score from published specifications and computed running cost. It is not a test result, and it is deliberately not marked up as a rating in this page’s structured data.
#2 - Best for a large room
Levoit Core 600S-P
A living room or open-plan space up to about 600 sq ft

The right Levoit for a genuinely large room, and the only one in the range with the CADR to hold an open-plan space. Its efficiency is middling for the brand and its filter interval is unpublished, same as the Core 400S.
#ad Price as of October 18, 2026, from Amazon. Prices change. How we make money.
Published specifications
| Specification | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| CADR | 391 CFM | Levoit published specification |
| Coverage | 606 sq ft at 4.8 air changes/hr (2,909 sq ft at 1 ACH) | Levoit published specification |
| CADR (federal test) - smoke / dust / pollen | 391 / 398 / 436 CFM | ENERGY STAR certified room air cleaners database |
| Clean air per watt | 5.93 CFM/W | ENERGY STAR certified room air cleaners database |
| Annual energy use | 387 kWh/yr | ENERGY STAR certified room air cleaners database |
| Ozone emissions | 0.00 ppb on the LAP-C601S-WUS variant; 2.00 ppb on LAP-C601S-WUSR | ENERGY STAR certified room air cleaners database |
| Rated power | 49 W | Levoit published specification |
| Noise | 26-55 dB | Levoit published specification |
| Filtration | 3-stage: pre-filter, main filter, activated carbon | Levoit published specification |
| Filter replacement | Not published by Levoit - see cons | Levoit published specification |
| Dimensions and weight | 12.3 x 12.3 x 23.6 in, 13.7 lb | Levoit published specification |
What it costs to run
About $71 a year on ENERGY STAR's certified annual energy figure.
ENERGY STAR publishes 387 kWh a year for LAP-C601S. At 18.34 cents/kWh that is $70.98 a year. Levoit's own 49 W rating cross-checks it: 49 W / 1000 x 24 hours x 365 = 429 kWh at full power, so the certified figure implies it spends most of its time below maximum, which is what you would expect on Auto.
What is good about it
- 391 CFM of CADR is the most air any purchasable Levoit moves, and it is what an open-plan room actually needs
- Levoit publishes both the honest coverage (606 sq ft at 4.8 air changes) and the headline figure (2,909 sq ft at 1 ACH), which most of the category does not
- The federal certified CADR of 391 CFM matches Levoit's own published figure exactly - the claim survives independent testing
- 5.93 CFM/W is slightly better than the Core 400S despite moving 69% more air
- Published 49 W rated power, so the running cost can be computed two independent ways
What is not
- 387 kWh a year is the highest running cost of any Levoit purifier we list - about $71 a year, which is the price of the capacity
- Levoit does not publish a filter replacement interval for it, so the annual filter cost cannot be computed before you buy - the same gap as the Core 400S
- 5.93 CFM/W is mid-pack for the brand: Levoit's Eleva 500X is certified at 9.26 and its own Eleva 300X at 6.68
- The two certified Core 600S variants report different ozone figures - 0.00 and 2.00 ppb - and the listing does not state which one ships
- 13.7 lb and nearly two feet tall; this is a piece of furniture, not something you move between rooms
Who should skip this
Skip this for a bedroom. 391 CFM in a 150 sq ft room means running it on its lowest speed permanently and paying for capacity you cannot use; the Eleva 300X is both cheaper to buy and cheaper to run.
How it scored
- Capacity for a large room9.5
- Clean air per watt7.0
- Published specifications7.5
- Running cost6.0
Overall 8.3 / 10. This is our editorial score from published specifications and computed running cost. It is not a test result, and it is deliberately not marked up as a rating in this page’s structured data.
#3 - The famous one
Levoit Core 400S
Living rooms and open-plan spaces

The one to buy if you want a purifier that genuinely covers a living room, and one of the few spec sheets in this bracket that publishes coverage at a useful air-change rate rather than only the flattering one.
#ad Price as of October 18, 2026, from Amazon. Prices change. How we make money.
Published specifications
| Specification | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| CADR | 231 CFM | Levoit published specification |
| Coverage | 358 sq ft at 4.8 air changes/hr (1,718 sq ft at 1 ACH) | Levoit published specification |
| Rated power | 38 W | Levoit published specification |
| Noise | 22-52 dB | Levoit published specification |
| Filtration | 3-stage: pre-filter, HEPA, activated carbon | Levoit published specification |
| Dimensions | 10.8 x 10.8 x 20.5 in, 11 lb | Levoit published specification |
What it costs to run
About $25-30 a year in electricity at 12 hours a day, before filters.
38 W / 1000 x 12 hours x 365 days = 166.4 kWh. At 18.34 cents/kWh that is $30.52 a year at rated power - and the unit only draws its full 38 W on the top fan speed, so a mid setting lands nearer $25. Add the replacement filter, which you should price before you buy rather than after.
What is good about it
- Levoit publishes coverage at both 1 ACH and 4.8 ACH, which is unusually straight - most brands quote only the flattering 1 ACH number
- 38 W is low for this CADR, which is what keeps the running cost down
- 22 dB on its lowest setting is quiet enough to sleep beside
- Carbon, pet-allergy and smoke-specific replacement filters are sold for the same body
What is not
- We could not find a published filter replacement interval in Levoit's specification, so we are not quoting one
- The 1,718 sq ft headline is a single air change per hour, which is not a useful rate for allergies
Who should skip this
Skip this if your room is under 200 sq ft. The Core 300S covers that at lower power and lower cost, and the extra CADR buys you nothing in a small bedroom.
How it scored
- Clean air per watt9.0
- Honest coverage claim9.5
- Quiet operation8.5
- Filter economics7.5
Overall 8.6 / 10. This is our editorial score from published specifications and computed running cost. It is not a test result, and it is deliberately not marked up as a rating in this page’s structured data.
How we ranked these
We have not tested these units. Nobody here owns one. What we did was compile each manufacturer’s published specifications, check the coverage claims against AHAM’s room-sizing rule, and compute what each one costs to run for a year at the current US average electricity price. Every figure on this page is attributed to whoever published it, and the arithmetic is shown so you can redo it.
How we rank these sets out the full method, including what would change a ranking.
Questions people ask
+−Which Levoit air purifier is the best?
On certified clean air per watt, the Eleva 500X at 9.26 CFM/W - but we could not find it purchasable on Amazon. Of the units you can buy, the Eleva 300X is the best engineered at 6.68 CFM/W, and the Core 600S is the right choice if the room is larger than about 250 sq ft. The Core 400S is seventh of ten on that measure.
+−Is the Levoit Core 400S still worth buying?
For a room of roughly 300-360 sq ft, yes - it is a competent purifier, certified at 0.00 ppb ozone, and its published CADR stands up to federal testing. For a bedroom it is beaten on every axis by the cheaper Eleva 300X, which uses about 40% less electricity a year. It is not a bad machine; it is an over-recommended one.
+−Are Levoit air purifiers ENERGY STAR certified?
Most of the range is - ten Levoit purifiers appear in the certified room air cleaners database. Two of them meet the stricter ENERGY STAR Most Efficient criteria, and neither is a Core model. The Vital 200S is not in the database at all, so no certified efficiency or ozone figure exists for it.
+−Do Levoit air purifiers produce ozone?
Most certified Levoit models report 0.00 ppb, and none uses an ionizing stage. Two variants are exceptions in the data - one Core 400S variant at 1.00 ppb and one Core 600S variant at 2.00 ppb - and listings do not say which variant ships. For context, the highest figure across all 243 certified room air cleaners is 5 ppb, so these are very small quantities. The brand where that column is never zero is Blueair, and the reason is its filtration design - Levoit vs Blueair.
+−How long do Levoit filters last?
Levoit publishes an interval for the Eleva 300X - up to two years on the particle filter and 6-12 months on the carbon - but does not publish one for the Core 400S or the Core 600S, which means their annual filter cost cannot be calculated before you buy. Price the replacement filter before committing, whichever model you choose. The brand that answers this most directly is not Levoit - Shark publishes a five-year filter life and quantifies the saving - Levoit vs Shark.
+−What does the Levoit coverage figure on Amazon mean?
The large number is quoted at one air change per hour. Levoit publishes both figures on its own specification pages - the Core 600S as 2,909 sq ft at 1 ACH and 606 sq ft at 4.8 ACH - and the smaller one is the room size to shop by. Levoit printing both puts it ahead of most of the category.
Sources
- ENERGY STAR - Certified Room Air Cleaners product database
- Levoit - Eleva 300X Smart Air Purifier specification
- Levoit - Core 600S-P Smart Air Purifier specification
- AHAM Verifide - Air Filtration Standards (AC-1)
- EPA - Air Cleaners and Air Filters in the Home (Guide to Air Cleaners in the Home)
- U.S. Energy Information Administration - Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.6.A